Today I love….Cookbook for Marysville

23 Jun

The Marysville Cookbook

Saturday 7th February 2009, now known as Black Saturday, saw the state of Victoria devastated by uncontrollable bushfires. Many towns were wiped from the map, thousands of buildings were lost and 173 people perished.

The devastation of Marysville was almost total.

The township needed something that was theirs and theirs alone. So they created the “Cookbook for Marysville”. Almost 300 copies were printed and given to the residents of Marysville with a message of hope and of thanks to emergency personnel.

Many people wanted to buy the book. They commissioned a second print run and the book is now for sale at $30.00.

$10 from each and every book, will be returned back to the town through various community ventures. I shall publish updates on sales and where the money is going, along with recipes from the book, at the Marysville Cookbook blog.

This book is 165 pages, including 28 pages of photos of the old Marysville taken by residents both past and present.

Read more about the book and my thank you to the people of Marysville.

Buy the book now!

Marysville Cookbook

* Title: Cookbook for Marysville

* ISBN: 978-0-646-52760-4

* RRP: $30.00

* Postage $5.00 (Australia only)

via Cookbook for Marysville – Marysville Cookbook.

One Response to “Today I love….Cookbook for Marysville”

  1. Heather June 23, 2010 at 6:27 pm #

    Thank-you very much for this post. I saw it posted on Twitter, before I saw the comments on the blog post 😉

    It is truely appreciated.

    For those wondering about my involvement in Marysville and how and why I choose Marysville to benefit. I grew up in Marysville and my parents still live there. My parents did save their house amongst all the devastation, They are one of the 11 hourses, still standing near the centre of town.
    That is my connection with Marysville and why I feel so much attachment.

    Thank-you everyone who does decide to support the township. For every book sold $10 goes straight back to the non-profit organisations within the township.

Leave a Reply

