Today I love….Mrs Beeton’s Book of Household Management

23 Jun

Well, well, well….Mrs. Beeton you say??? Who???

Isabella Mary Mayson (March 12, 1836January 1865), universally known as Mrs Beeton, was the author of Mrs Beeton’s Book of Household Management and is the most famous cookery writer in British history.

Anyhoo, my grandfather gave me this book as a gift one year (god bless him, even though someone else received Stephanie Alexanders’ The Cook’s Companion and I was very jealous) and I proceeded to read the tome with great enthusiasm….yes, it was huge!

Of course, me being delusional and believing that yes, one day, I am going to be a dutiful and wonderful housewife and mother and my grandfather thinks I should know this stuff, so here we go….

I have to say I think the book was leant to a friend (or donated??!!) and alas, it has not been returned…but thanks to the wonderful interweb I have found the full text!! I believe this is actually edited from the edition of the book I received way back then as I totally do not remember some parts of the chapters such as….

1. AS WITH THE COMMANDER OF AN ARMY, or the leader of any enterprise, so is it with the mistress of a house.

3. EARLY RISING IS ONE OF THE MOST ESSENTIAL QUALITIES

5. FRUGALITY AND ECONOMY ARE HOME VIRTUES

10. GOOD TEMPER SHOULD BE CULTIVATED

15. IN MARKETING, THAT THE BEST ARTICLES ARE THE CHEAPEST

26. THESE DUTIES AND PLEASURES BEING PERFORMED AND ENJOYED

27. AFTER LUNCHEON, MORNING CALLS AND VISITS may be made and received.

34. THE HALF-HOUR BEFORE DINNER

38. WHEN FRUIT HAS BEEN TAKEN, and a glass or two of wine passed round, the time will have arrived when the hostess will rise, and thus give the signal for the ladies to leave the gentlemen

Bingo!

There it is folks…that’s the ball game….

Have fun reading the tome of all tomes….

Martha Stewart eat your heart out baby!!!

Mrs Beeton’s Book of Household Management – CHAPTER 1 – THE MISTRESS

MrsBeeton.com is an ongoing project that provides free access to the complete text of Beeton’s Book of Household Management.

It contains a wealth of recipes, advice and commentary from the Victorian era and offers a unique insight into the culture of a bygone age.

Leave a Reply

