Today I love….One-Ingredient Ice Cream

20 Jul

Usually I freeze my old bananas to make into a banana cake…..(this is my Mumma training here)……

Then I found this great idea for using up the old frozen banana stockpile…..

It is way too cold in my part of the world to be eating any ice cream whatsoever but I hear there is a massive heat wave in the US of A so maybe someone over there will find this helpful and cooling – please let me know if you make it!

The best thing about this recipe is how easy it actually is to make!

The second best thing is it contains no fat, no cholesterol and no added sugar – just yummy, creamy and sweet bananas!

You will need about 4 frozen bananas (or 1 per person). Break them into chunks (if you can, muscle woman/man) and put them in the food processor. Pulse the processor a few times to break up the chunks then turn on full bore and run for about 5 minutes; scrape down the sides of the bowl occasionally (make sure you STOP the food processor 1st!). Place the mix in a bowl and re-freeze to firm for about 15 minutes or bugger that and just eat it!!! A spoonful of Milo (or drinking chocolate) and some chopped nuts goes beautifully served with the ice cream.

Yes, so the title of this post is ‘One Ingredient Ice Cream’…..theoretically you could do this with ANY frozen fruit – berries probably work best but let me know what you try (a mix of fruit maybe?) and please let me know how you go!!!

If you are still feelin’ HOT HOT HOT, check out my Honey Ice Cream post!!!

This is also a great idea – get your bananas and fill ’em up with chocolate chunks then bake ’em or whack them on the barbie (BBQ/Hotplate for you non-Aussies out there) to get some chocolatey banana-ery goodness!

Or aren’t these pretty????

Pretty damn easy for the little kiddies to do as well I say….

2 Responses to “Today I love….One-Ingredient Ice Cream”

  1. Tes July 20, 2010 at 7:38 pm #

    Those banana ideas are so fabulous! Those 2 bananas sleeping under the blankets are so adorable!

    • catrinam July 27, 2010 at 2:23 pm #

      🙂

Leave a Reply

