Today I love…..celebrating a champion in my family!

25 Jul

We are all soooooo proud right now!

What an achievement…..after so many years and so much effort and so many setbacks and so much bad luck!

Who would have thought that the boy from the bush who was kicked in the head by a horse all that time ago, would one day win Le Tour De France – one of the world’s most oldest and prestigious races ever! 

Well, we knew it! I can tell you that much! We dreamed and hoped and prayed and wished that it would happen one day; if and when everything ever fell into the right place for him!

I remember when he was kicked by that horse, but all I remember is my parents telling me was that it occurred and that Cadel was going to be OK. Of course, that’s what all parents tell kids when they are not really sure themselves….but he pulled through that and now look at what he has pulled off! You know what I think? Everything happens for a reason and this was meant to be for him.  

But finally, we can say that our Cadel Evans is the first Australian to win the tour and the oldest person as well!


So when will he come home? Well, I ask you – can he? In six months time or more, will he be able to walk down the street unnoticed? A lot of people would have recognised him before, but now?! WOW is all I can say!

I hope to see him very soon, but I don’t think I will be that lucky. It’s a bit hard for him to even see his Mum and Dad now as I heard on the radio today from my Uncle! After winning the tour, apparently Cadel is now committed to compete in more races overseas, but then I also saw that he promised the Tour Down Under he would return for 2012; if he won the Tour. So your guess is as good as mine. If I ever get to talk to him, I might get permission to share some more lovely pics with you.

I just hope that he is enjoying his well-earnt time in the spotlight right now, because he really does deserve it.

He is now the most famous person in our family – well, that I know of! Our late grandfather was well-known but not an accomplished athlete! Our grandfather passed just over a year ago, and I know that Cadel would have been thinking of him while racing. How sad that he was not able to be here to see this wonderful, history-making occasion as well…. 😦

I better lift my game, hey peeps!?! 🙂

Cadel did this not only for himself, but for all the people around him and all those that love or have loved him and supported him the whole way. As his lovely wife said, “All of Australia, My Boy’s family and friends – on earth and in the sky – were pushing him today…” – what a lovely sentiment! Is he a hero? That’s up to you my friends, but he is my hero now for the pure fact that he has strived and strived to get to where he deserves to be!

His poor father is now being hounded by the media – “12 live TV interviews 120 radio talkbacks including 2 with BBC, 30 odd newspaper stories…” So I can just imagine what his mother is experiencing as well!

Everybody say YAY for Cadel!

What a great life and can you imagine how surreal this all feels for us now?

This is a great pictorial of a wonderful person and his achievements……..HINT: click on the pic below……

And one from me……..

Love ya cuz xxxooo


4 Responses to “Today I love…..celebrating a champion in my family!”

  1. deer donna July 25, 2011 at 8:47 pm #

    wow, he is your cousin? awesome!

    i created the schleck my balls page for him – i am such a fan, i saw him in the tour in person in 2007!

    thank you for joining my group! donna xox

    • catrinam July 26, 2011 at 11:03 am #

      Hi Donna! I figured you were female lol good on you and keep it up x 🙂

  2. deer donna July 26, 2011 at 5:38 pm #

    yes!! i am! hehe

    i am so excited for you all. he is such a champion and i am just wrapped that i can say directly to one of his family members… WOW! good on him!

    i saw him in the tour de france, in paris and the mountain stages in 2007 and it was amazing. he is such a champion.

    • catrinam July 26, 2011 at 10:03 pm #

      Thanks hun that’s really nice yes I am proud to know him and hope to see him and get to finally meet his lovely wife very soon!!! xxx

Leave a Reply

